A Body of Divinity – By Thomas Watson

Posted: March 11, 2012 in Books by Author, Books by Title

To receive your FREE pdf copy click on the title of this book, scroll to the bottom of the page and leave your request and email address in the ”Comments” box.

“Thomas Watson’s Body of Practical Divinity is one of the most precious of the peerless works of the Puritans; and those best acquainted with it prize it most. Watson was one of the most concise, racy, illustrative, and suggestive of those eminent divines who made the Puritan age the Augustan period of evangelical literature. There is a happy union of sound doctrine, heart-searching experience and practical wisdom throughout all his works, and his Body of Divinity is, beyond all the rest, useful to the student and the minister.”  C. H. Spurgeon

Product  Description:

A Body of Divinity deals with the foremost doctrinal and experimental truths of the Christian Faith. It is based on the Westminster Assembly’s “Shorter Catechism,” in which the main principles of Christianity that lie scattered in the Scriptures are brought together and set forth in the form of question and answer.

 
Watson was an English Puritan minister who wrote this work that expounds the teaching of the Shorter Catechism by taking from sermons that he preached. The strengths of this work is that Watson’s exposition is terse, straight to the point, easily understood, and practical.Concerning the first question of the catechism, “What is the chief end of man? A. To glorify God and enjoy him forever,” and the doctrine of providence, for example, Watson writes: “We glorify God, by being contented in that state in which Providence has placed us. We give God the glory of his wisdom, when we rest satisfied with what he carves out to us” (13). This is a terrific doctrinal and practical insight—we affirm that God is sovereign over all things, but if we complain about the day-to-day events in our lives, can we truly claim to understand God’s providence? If we understand the nature of God’s providence, then Watson’s point is that we should therefore glorify God in all things as we acknowledge that all things in our lives come from the hand of God.
Comments
  1. Majdi says:

    I wish if you can send me a copy of this book

  2. Gordon Lobban says:

    My (now) wife and I read this book in the early 1970s while we were at Bike College and were courting. It was a great blessing that God used in uniting us in the glorious and sure hope that we have in Christ Jesus. Looking forward to reading it and again sharing it together. Thank you for your ministry – it is one that we will share with others.

  3. BDiener says:

    Please send me Thomas Watson’s Body of Divinity. Thank you for this tremendous resource.

  4. Scott says:

    Have it, but would love to read it on my Kindle. Thanks.

  5. ALLAN says:

    Please send me a free pdf copy !

    BE BLESSED

    Allan

  6. Please send the free copy.
    Thanks
    Sipho

  7. Please send me a free pdf copy! And thank you!

    Pastor David R. King
    Evangelical Church of Bangkok

  8. Les Green says:

    Please send me a copy of Watson’s ‘Body of Divinity’. I appreciate greatly what you are doing.
    Les Green. lesfey@vodamail.co.za

  9. vasantha says:

    Please send me this book.thank you.

  10. Frikkie says:

    I just love the rich legacy of the Puritans, can I have this book, please?

  11. Lucretia says:

    Please send me a copy of the book too – thank u

  12. Estele says:

    I would really love a copy! We emigrated from South Africa to the UK and parted with all our books – the grief was over-run by the joy of giving them to a poor (as in poor!) black Bible College. Now that I’m older I also have time to read “Body” at a decent pace! Thank so much for an influential (for the King and Kingdom) ministry! Estelle

  13. Ettienne says:

    Hi
    Please forward me a copy:)Thanks

  14. Rod Thomas says:

    yes please!

  15. Sue Pnematicatos says:

    Please may I have a copy of this book. The given quote: Watson writes: “We glorify God, by being contented in that state in which Providence has placed us. We give God the glory of his wisdom, when we rest satisfied with what he carves out to us” has already been a challenge!

    With thanks
    Sue

  16. gavin marais says:

    please send, would be greatly appreciated

  17. gavin marais says:

    this time i’ll follow instructions 🙂
    please send a copy to maraisgc@telkomsa.net
    thanks

  18. Marie says:

    Could you please send me this book. I appreciate The Puritans.

    Regards

    Marie

  19. Tobie says:

    Hi

    Can I please have a copy of this book.

    Thank you. You are a blessing.
    Tobie

  20. ngm says:

    please send me also this book…
    thank you very so much

  21. please send me a free PDF copy. Thanks
    Dirk-Bart

  22. Ensie Enslin says:

    Body of Divinity please.

    Thanks

    Ensie

  23. Neil says:

    Please supply the book.

  24. scott thames says:

    Please send me a copy. I am in a reading frenzy.

  25. André says:

    please send me a copy

  26. Mario Sprinkle says:

    Hi, I would like to receive a copy of this book please. Thank you

  27. elroy finck says:

    Please send a copy

  28. Mario Sprinkle says:

    Hi, I would like to receive a copy please, thank you.

  29. Carl says:

    A Body of Divinity – By Thomas Watson
    Could you send me a PDF?
    God bless!
    Carl

  30. Jai Daniel says:

    Could you kindly send me a PDF of “Body of Divinity” by Thomas Watson? Thank you and may God bless you for your efforts.

    Jai

Leave a Reply

