Spiritual Growth By Arthur W. Pink

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Books by Title
Tags: , , , , , ,

Click on the heading title of this post and leave your request and e-mail address in the comments box and we will deliver  yet another deeply challenging book to your Inbox, in pdf format, ready to read,  for FREE!

In answer to the question, “Which books have most influenced his life?” John MacArthur lists A.W. Pink’s “Spiritual Growth” in the top 10.

Review:

When someone becomes a disciple of Christ their most important concern in life becomes, “how may I please and honour the Lord who has saved me?” How can someone assess their spiritual progress and what means has God ordained for their spiritual maturation? As in all of his books, A.W.Pink has many keen insights on this Biblical subject. For example, on p.116, he writes perceptively, “It is strange that so many other writers on this subject have failed to place first among the means of spiritual growth this work of mortifying the flesh, for it should be quite obvious that it must take precedence over everything else, of what avail can it be to read and study the Word, to spend more time in prayer, to seek to develop my graces while I ignore and neglect that within me which will neutralize and mar all other efforts.”

Pink is extremely helpful in exhorting those who desire to grow spiritually to make diligent use of the means that God has provided for that end. Meditating on the Word of God is an important component of spiritual growth which has often been overlooked. Mr. Pink has this helpful comment on p.129, “If we would read the Scriptures to advantage, if our souls are to be nurtured by them, if we are to make true Christian progress, then it must be by earnest prayer and constant meditation. It is only by pondering the Words of God that they become fixed in our minds and exert a salutary influence upon our thoughts and actions. Things forgotten have no power to regulate us, and Scripture is soon forgotten unless it be turned over and over in the mind.”

The books that Pink has written on Christian living will be of enourmous help in producing holiness in the heart and life. I believe that a more helpful and comprehensive book on Christian growth would be very difficult to find.

Comments
  1. As the Spiritual Growth Coordinator for my local United Methodist Women, I am very interested in this book. I would be honored to receive this book!

    Stephanie

  2. ramesh says:

    i would like to have a copy of this book

  3. Dana Burkey says:

    I would love a copy of this book too! You can never read enough about growing closer to our Lord.

  4. Anthony says:

    You can’t go far wrong with AW Pink

  5. ensie says:

    Hi, I am interested to see whether this book can also be used as a discussion book at a Bible study group. Please do send it to me.

    Thanks.

    God bless.

    Ensie

  6. WAD says:

    Please send me the book!

  7. andrew says:

    Sounds like a book worthy of a read and smallgroup even! Would love a copy!

  8. Simon Tham says:

    Please send me a copy of Pink’s “Spiritual Growth”.

    Thank you.
    Simon.

  9. John says:

    I would love to have a copy too. johncraigcolbert@aol.com

  10. Anne MacDonald says:

    Please send me the book.

  11. Les Green says:

    I would be grateful to receive Pink’s ‘Spriritual Growth’

  12. Lucretia says:

    please send me a copy also

    thank u

  13. scott thames says:

    How amazing! the books offered here are awesome! Please send me Spiritual Groth.

  14. Horst says:

    Please send me a copy

  15. Neil Henry says:

    Please forward a copy of Pinks book.

  16. Quinton Timmes says:

    I would appreciate it if you can send me a copy.

    Regards, and God Bless

    Quinton

  17. André says:

    Please may I have a copy of this book.
    Thank you.

  18. CHENG says:

    Please send me a copy

  19. ilee07 says:

    Please send a copy. Thanks!

  20. I’d like to have a copy of Pink’s book!

  21. Siu says:

    This one sounds interesting. Please send a copy.

  22. Johan Kotze says:

    I would dearly love to read this. Thank you.

  23. Ilija Skoric says:

    I would like to order Pinks book spiritual growth. Thank you !

  24. Ds Nico Bekker says:

    I would like to order Pinks book spiritual growth. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

